Box Off

Standard

box off

If someone crafts a box with you in mind, it doesn’t mean you have to get in it.

You decide where you do and do not fit, no one else get to make that call…T.Odessa Kane ©

Box Off

I do not wish to diligently learn how to

craft a box that I can grow old Inside.

I do not want to know how to precisely

tick a box, stroke my ego, feed my

pride. I do not want to be shown how to

craft boxes for others, nor how to create

for them a label, I do not want to constantly

be making spot checks, deciding who is

and who is not worthy, of value, able.

I do not want to build my life at your expense

nor do I want you to build your life at mine

I do not want to daily count the cost,

fall ever short of the plumb-line. I do

not want you to treat me like I am a friend

when to you I’m but a job, I don’t want

to be groomed, not broken, coerced

I do not want you my soul to rob.

I do not want to dream all of those impossible

dreams, in order to toe your line.

I do not want to break nor sell myself

short, whilst on my gifts you dine.

I do not want to lose, or to starve

the best of me, simply to feed the worst

of you, I do not want to wear your chains

I do not want to give you credit that is not due.

 I do not want to learn how to craft a box

that I can grow old inside, I do not want to know

how to tick a box, how to stroke my ego,

feed my pride.

 

Written by Tracey Odessa Kane 23rd Feb 2017 ©

Taken from the book ‘Valleys Deep ‘n’ Mountains High’ written by Tracey Odessa Kane ©.

‘Valleys Deep ‘n’ Mountains High’ will be available to purchase November 2017.

Copyright © “All Rights Reserved” Please see copyright page for more details.

(Dear Roy, I think you’ve had more enough credit now, for all the quotes and lines that you lift directly from my blogs, my work and my poetry books. Give it a rest now and think for yourself! #Copyright).

If you would like to know more about my books, or if you would like to book a talk or a poetry reading, or to discuss any of my work further then please feel free to visit my Author website:  todessakane.org  or email me at tokane13books@gmail.com I would sincerely love to hear from you.

my books

All my daily blogs are automatically posted on LinkedinTwitter and Facebook and are sent by email, direct to all those that subscribe to anotherdaysomeday2013.com via WordPress. If you would like to receive my daily blog posts please see contact page for more details, Thank You and God bless you Tracey Odessa Kane 🙂

Comments are closed.