Bereft

Standard

bereft

Bereft.

 

Let he who is without

sin – pick the first stone

from the pile.  Something sharp

sturdy heavy, so it stings

long after it has been thrown –

so it reminds all for a while.

That in this life, upon

this land, we walk the thinnest

line – traverse the path

of heaven, hell,  whilst spending

our allotted time.  And all good people

in their masses, care not

who you are, have no desire

To read your story – No inclination

to follow your star…

They do not care nor do they wish

to know, if you are kind or if you

are wise, if the light of love

shines in your eyes, it matters

not to them that truths your prize.

To them you but a face –

A face in a crowd they do not

see, a voice in a riot

they do not hear – a photograph

that’s not quite clear.  And yet

they’ll act as judge, as jury.

In a heat beat they’ll condemn.

Tear your world apart.

Insist that you’re not of them.

And one by one they will bend down,

picking stones up off the floor …

forgetting in a heartbeat,

to judge another is sin for sure.

And as he/she casts the first stone

All of heaven holds its breath –

for the proof long been suspected dawns

Mankind of love – it is bereft.

 

Written by Tracey Odessa Kane  14th January 2017 ©

Taken from the book ‘Valleys Deep ‘n’ Mountains High’ written by Tracey Odessa Kane ©.

‘Valleys Deep ‘n’ Mountains High’ will be available to purchase November 2017.

Copyright © “All Rights Reserved” Please see copyright page for more details.

(Dear Roy, I think you’ve had more enough credit now, for all the quotes and lines that you lift directly from my blogs, my work and my poetry books. Give it a rest now and think for yourself! #Copyright).

If you would like to know more about my books, or if you would like to book a talk or a poetry reading, or to discuss any of my work further then please feel free to visit my Author website:  todessakane.org  or email me at tokane13books@gmail.com I would sincerely love to hear from you.

my books

All my daily blogs are automatically posted on LinkedinTwitter and Facebook and are sent by email, direct to all those that subscribe to anotherdaysomeday2013.com via WordPress. If you would like to receive my daily blog posts please see contact page for more details, Thank You and God bless you Tracey Odessa Kane 🙂

Comments are closed.