To Whom It May Concern

Standard

to who it may concern

To Whom It May Concern

I’m sorry I had no faith in you, though we had never met,

I’m sorry that I didn’t care if you were hungry, cold and wet…

I’m sorry that I didn’t mind that you were pushed around,

I’m sorry that I turned away, thus no hope nor friend was found…

I’m sorry that I bought new shoes when you had no food to eat,

I’m sorry that my only thoughts were the self needs I chose to meet…

I’m sorry that I closed my eyes when you reached out to me,

I’m sorry that I blocked my ears when you cried endlessly…

I’m sorry that for my apathy, my lack of empathy,

I’m sorry for my selfish greed, my loss of integrity…

I’m sorry for my empty heart, the coldness in my eyes,

I’m sorry your poverty led me to judge, to mock, despise…

I’m sorry that I laughed at you when you took the fall,

I’m sorry that I didn’t help when your back was against the wall…

I’m sorry that I ran away when you needed me the most,

I’m sorry that when I did give you a thought all I could do was boast…

I’m sorry that I couldn’t see past my mortgage, bank account,

I’m sorry that my ignorance causes your fears to mount…

I’m sorry that my promises were empty, unreal, fake,

I’m sorry that I showed no mercy to you for Heaven’s sake…

I’m sorry that I watched you bleed when bandages I had,

I’m sorry that I cared not a jot when you were labelled mad…

I’m sorry that I watched them drag your family away,

I’m sorry that I held your coat whilst their mindless games they made you play…

I’m sorry that I handed them the loaded gun to end your life,

I’m sorry I watched them taunt you first, causing you endless pain and strife…

I’m sorry that I blocked my ears when they shot the gun,

I’m sorry that I was too blind to see that the nightmares just begun……

 

For when were blind, when we turn away, when we shun another’s need,

All evil it awakes, breaks loose and on our cold hearts and souls does feed…

And any trace of good we had becomes bound up, enslaved,

And any act of decency we now take with us to our stone cold graves…

For the price we pay for lovelessness is the sum of peace, of purpose, joy,

And the bill that we are handed stains our spirits, steals, kills, destroys…

And all that we are left with is a road that leads to hell,

And a world packed full of strangers whom your very soul would sell…

 

Written by Tracey Odessa Kane 3rd October 2013 ©.

This poem is taken from the book ‘When God Isn’t Enough’ 

Written by Tracey Odessa Kane and Published by Rowanvale Books 2016.

The book is available to download FREE as an E-Book or to purchase as a Paperback.

Please go to Author website for more details http://www.todessakane.org

Copyright © “All Rights Reserved” Please see copyright page for more details.

(Dear Roy, I think you’ve had more enough credit now, for all the quotes and lines that you lift directly from my blogs, my work and my poetry books. Give it a rest now and think for yourself! #Copyright).

If you would like to know more about my books, or if you would like to book a talk or a poetry reading, or to discuss any of my work further then please feel free to email me at tokane13books@gmail.com I would sincerely love to hear from you.

my books

All my daily blogs are automatically posted on LinkedinTwitter and Facebook and are sent by email, direct to all those that subscribe to anotherdaysomeday2013.com via WordPress. If you would like to receive my daily blog posts please see contact page for more details, Thank You and God bless you Tracey Odessa Kane 🙂

Comments are closed.