Thursday’s Child.

Standard

 thursday

Thursday’s Child.

 

Thursday’s child had far to go

So the story had long been foretold,

For this child would go to the ends of the earth

For a treasure, that to him, was more precious than gold.

 

I was completely overwhelmed that night

By the love that I felt in my heart,

As I took the bowl and the towel

I was ready for the lesson to start.

 

Kneeling there at their feet

Felt like the most intimate thing I had done,

I was their Father and they were my children

But I was also their Saviour, Man’s Son.

 

They did not understand the true meaning

Didn’t get why I did what I did,

But I knew that sooner or later

They’d understand that’s what sacrifice is.

 

I could have wept for a whole host of reasons

Not least for the love in their eyes,

Such love that I’d take to the cross

Such love, now eternity’s prize.

 

Thursday’s child had far to go

So the story had long been foretold,

For this child would go to the ends of the earth

For a treasure, that to him, was more precious than gold.

 

I wasn’t sure if they were yet ready

To be left on their own in this way,

I still had so much left to tell them

My whole being was longing to stay.

 

But I had to do, what I came here to do

And now was the time and the place,

I was the Lord of the dance and the band played my tune

I had to cease this day, run my race.

 

When I lifted the bread up before me

And explained the part it would play,

I saw such sadness fill their souls

As they questioned “Can we truly remember this way?”

 

Taking the cup was one step too many

I saw them reel at the thought of my blood,

Their hearts fell like lead had been added

To remember would be hard at first, but they would.

 

Thursday’s child had far to go

So the story had long been foretold,

For this child would go to the ends of the earth

For a treasure, that to him, was more precious than gold.

 

It was so silent there in the garden

As I began confronting my fears,

As I contemplated the events yet to come

As I fought off, my doubts and my tears.

 

I was angry when I found them all sleeping

How could they do this to me?

I needed them now more than ever

But it seems they were too blind to see.

 

As I went back to pray to my Father

My fears came crashing in all around,

And the tears that I’d held deep inside

Were now gushing, yet making no sound.

 

Please take this cup from me Father

I couldn’t hold in, what I now felt,

I couldn’t see how I could go through it

So I implored him right there as I knelt.

 

And as the tears, sweat and blood ran so freely

I took hold of my senses my heart,

It was then that I said to my Father

Not my will, I shall play my part.

 

Thursday’s child had far to go

So the story had long been foretold,

For this child would go to the ends of the earth

For a treasure, that to him, was more precious than gold.

 

It hurt me so much when he kissed me

But I knew that it had to be done,

I knew that he too had his own part to play

And that he too, was an obedient son.

 

I could feel the pain in their hearts

As they lead me away from their sight,

As they tried to understand for the last time

That sword’s do not win you the fight.

 

Protect them Father I whispered

Give them courage to follow the dance,

Let their strength come directly from you

Help them give love, a real fighting chance.

 

I can’t say any more at this moment

For Thursday is all but through, it’s over and done,

And I still have so far yet to travel

And there is still the last battle to be won.

 

Thursday’s child had far to go

So the story had long been foretold,

For this child would go to the ends of the earth

For a treasure, that to him, was more precious than gold.

 

Written by Tracey Odessa Kane 2nd March 2009 ©.

WGIE

This poem is taken from the book ‘When God Isn’t Enough’ 

Written by Tracey Odessa Kane and Published by Rowanvale Books 2016.

The book is available to download FREE as an E-Book or to purchase as a Paperback.

Please go to Author website for more details http://www.todessakane.org

(Dear Roy, I think you’ve had more enough credit now, for all the quotes and lines that you lift directly from my blogs and my poetry. Give it a rest now and think for yourself! #Copyright).

Copyright © “All Rights Reserved” Please see copyright page for more details.

If you would like to know more about my books, or if you would like to book a talk or a poetry reading, or to discuss any of my work further then please feel free to email me at tokane13books@gmail.com I would sincerely love to hear from you.

All my daily blogs are automatically posted on Linkedin, Twitter and Facebook and are sent by email, direct to all those that subscribe to anotherdaysomeday2013.com via WordPress. If you would like to receive my daily blog posts please see contact page for more details, Thank You and God bless you Tracey Odessa Kane 🙂

Comments are closed.